top of page
Prana Vashya yoga logo.png

Asana (postures)

meditation postures T&O.png
Raised Seat
Full Lotus
Half Lotus
Zafu (pillow)


22 Sacred Shapes lotus copred.png

Your life energy (also known as your ‘prana’) is like electricity which runs along energy channels called nadi which run throughout the human body. Chakra’s are like junction boxes where the channels come together. There are seven main chakras in the upper body, as follows:

The Root Chakra (muladhara) - is red in colour and it is located at the perineum / pelvic floor. Specifically, in men it is located in the area between the anus and scrotum and, for women, it is the area between the anus and clitoris. Those who practice yoga will be familiar with the moola bandha- contracting the moola bandha triggers this root chakra. Our basic survival instincts are located in this energy centre. It is also linked to our ability to trust in others.


The Sacral Chakra (svadhistana) - is orange in colour and it is located about 2 inches below the navel (also known as the dantian). This second energy centre is linked to our sexuality and family connections. It is also likened to our inner child being associated with creativity, innocence, vulnerability and spontaneity.


The Solar Plexus Chakra (manipura) - is yellow in colour and it located in the solar plexus, that is about 2 inches below your sternum in your chest. This chakra is linked to our ego / our self-concept as an individual, fame, authority and free-will.


The Heart Chakra (anahata) - is green in colour and it is located just left of the centre of your chest. It is associated with love, hatred, faith, compassion, anger, duty and devotion.


The Throat Chakra (vishuddha) -  is blue in colour and it is located at the base of your throat. It is linked to our creativity, communication/ expression, our knowledge and abundance.


The Third Eye Chakra (ajna) - is indigo in colour and it is located at the centre of your forehead in-between the eyebrows. It linked to intuition, insight/ inner vision, wisdom and relaxation.


The Crown Chakra (sahaswara) - is violet in colour and it is located at the very top of your head. It is linked to our union with the Divine and cosmic consciousness and unbounded awareness.


Each of these seven chakra’s resonates with specific sounds that you can make/ chant:

The Root Chakra – “LAM”

The Sacral Chakra - “VAM”

The Solar Plexus Chakra – “RAM”

The Heart Chakra – “YAM”

The Throat Chakra – “HAM”

The Third Eye Chakra – “SHAM”

The Crown Chakra – “OM”

To meditate on the chakra’s and awaken each energy centre first sit down in a comfortable position with your back straight and watch your breath. Once you have settled begin chanting the first mantra “LAM” visualising its location in your body and the colour red. Do this for about 5 minutes and then watch your breath and settle back down.

Then do the same for the second chakra - visualise its location in your body (i.e. the dantian; 2 inches below the navel) and its colour (orange) and chant the mantra “VAM” for 5 minutes or so.

Repeat this routine for each chakra (remembering to leave a gap between each stage as you simply watch your breath and settle back down):















Finally, after chanting all seven mantras you then observe the silence for 20 minutes; watching your breath.

This meditation should only be done in the mornings as it gives you an abundance of energy . Ideally it should be done first thing and before any work out. If you do this in the evening you will not be able to sleep at night!

Screen Shot 2019-01-29 at 23.58.36.png
Return Home
bottom of page