top of page

Yoga Sutra 2.30

A little look at the second Yoga Sutra

Yoga sutra 2.30

ahiṁsā-satya-asteya-brahmacarya-aparigrahāḥ yamāḥ

The five social restraints are: non-violence, non-stealing, truthfulness, celibacy & non-storage

The advice concerning your behaviour in society (the five yamas) is also a set of universal values commonplace in many great religions.

  • ahiṁsā: non-violence – do not go beyond your limits/use ego in your practice. Respect and benevolence go a long way.

  • satya: non-stealing – do not steal another person’s time or happiness. Do not cheat someone with sweet words or selfish ends.

  • asteya: truthfulness – be true to your practice and have respect for others.

  • brahmacarya: celibacy – a childlike attitude towards learning; seeking constant improvement.

  • aparigrahāḥ: non-storage – do not depend on others for happiness nor material objects. Happiness can only be found within.

Damian Cadman-Jones is an authorised teacher of Prana Vashya Yoga™

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page