top of page

Yoga Sutra 3.16

A little look at the third Yoga Sutra


Profound understanding on the three types of transformation comes knowledge of the past and future

The three-fold approach is set out at the beginning of this chapter 3 of the sūtras (dhāraṇā, dhyana, samādhi). The three types of transformation are detailed in: Yoga Sutra 3.13 (

As your clarity and understanding deepens, you begin to experience moments of saṁyama, that is a deep understanding of it all – the whole journey through this human experience. A powerful repeated enquiry into the above gradually leads to knowledge of what has occurred before and what is still to come. Thus, you should learn what you are doing before it is done.

Damian Cadman-Jones is an authorised teacher of Prana Vashya Yoga™

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page